Sustain Wales Member

Welcome to Llanelli Rural Council

Llanelli Rural Council is one of nine community councils in the Llanelli district area. The Council, formed during Local Government re-organisation in April 1974, is made up of 21 elected members, advised by the Clerk to the Council.

The Council’s geographic area is approximately 26.78 square miles, with a population of 22,800 and surrounds the urban centre of Llanelli. Its boundaries extend from Loughor Estuary in the east to Burry Port in the west and skirts the Gwendraeth Valley in the north. The area is made up of the villages and districts of Bynea, Cwmbach, Cynheidre, Dafen, Felinfoel, Five Roads, Furnace, Llwynhendy, Ponthenri, Pontyates (part only), Pwll, Sandy and Swiss Valley (see map for further information)

Join the Llanelli Rural Council Community News Mailing List

Please click on the following button to receive regular updates on funding, training, events in your area, the whole place plan and to subscribe to our free community news newsletters.

* indicates required

scenes of llanelli scenes of llanelli