Sustain Wales Member

Community Services

1. Community Buildings

The Council has 11 community buildings which have been handed over to the community to administer their day-to-day functions. Community halls are multi-functional and are used for a variety of activities, e.g. pre-school groups, scouts, aikido, luncheon clubs. Local committees are set up to run the halls and pay for some running costs from hire fees and fund raising events. The Council is responsible for all capital works and also gives grants towards running costs. The halls are located in the following areas:-

  • Brynmefys/Maengwynne Community Hall (known as Brynmaen). - Furnace (temporarily closed);
  • Dafen Community Hall – within Dafen Park;
  • Felinfoel Community Resource Centre – Ynyswen, Felinfoel
  • Five Roads Community Hall – Heol Hen, Five Roads;
  • Furnace Community Hall – Stradey Road, Furnace;
  • Ponthenri Community Hall – Bargoed Terrace, Ponthenri;
  • Sandy Community Hall – Sandy Road, Llanelli;
  • Saron Community Hall – Saron Road, Bynea;
  • Swiss Valley Community Hall – Heol Nant, Swiss Valley;
  • Trallwm Community Hall – Amanwy, Llwynhendy.

To request a list of contact details, please click here.

2. Grants to Organizations

Voluntary organizations are assisted each year with financial allocations. Sports and youth clubs, Churches and Chapels, Citizens Advice Bureau etc. receive regular grants from the Authority.

Financial Assistance Budget of £3,000 – allocated in accordance with the Council’s policy as follows:

  • Two donations of £500
  • Two donations of £250
  • Five donations of £100
  • £1000 - a minimum donation of £50

If you represent a group or organisation within the Council’s administrative area and you would like to be considered for financial aid, please write to the Council stating why you need our help.

Ward Allocations budget of £10,000 - allocated to the individual Wards based on population:-

  • Bynea - £1,917
  • Dafen - £1,555
  • Felinfoel - £916
  • Glyn - £938
  • Hengoed - £1,610
  • Pemberton - £1,960
  • Swiss Valley - £1,104

The money is distributed by the local councillors for the Ward to local groups and organisations in aid of worthy causes.

3. Community Development Fund

The Council is committed to encouraging community development by working closely with the community by offering financial support for community based projects. The fund has been created to support community groups and organisations based in the Councilís administrative area. The Councilís area is made up of the following villages and communities: Bynea, Cwmbach, Cynheidre, Dafen, Felinfoel, Five Roads, Furnace, Llwynhendy, Ponthenri, Pontyates, Pwll, Sandy and Swiss Valley.

You can download the application and criteria forms here